I smurf you

It is my birthday today, and my beau is flying from his workplace to see me X) I made this card for him..

I drew a smurfette figurine and colored her with my faber castell color pencils. I’ve blended three colors for the hair and 2 shades of blue for the body. I left some white spaces so that it looks like light is falling on her from the left.

DSC00310 DSC00312

Dont the rubber hearts look cute? I didnt add them to the card first, but then what is love without a heart? 😉 Here is a closer look at them. I bought a strip of rubber hearts at Accessorize for a 100 bucks, and later I thought “oops, spent too much..” Seeing the effect here, I am totally pleased with my purchase 🙂

DSC00313

With smurfs every other expression is “smurf”, so instead of “I Love You” I went with “I Smurf You!”. Isn’t, it perfect? I printed the sentiment, cut out the sentiment in the shape of a ribbon and pasted a few flat-back pearls on it. The background paper in the ribbon, and the polka-dotted background is from Country Companions PP collection.

DSC00314

I love the card, it is sooo CAS 🙂

Entering this card into BGC Challenge – Movie inspired CAS

I really enjoyed doing this card. Thank you girls@BGC for coming up with such a fun challenge 🙂

The movie my card is inspired after

The Smurfs 3D

I love, love, love the smurfs from the time I was a kid 🙂 So choosing this movie was special!

I had a really hard time choosing the movie though 😦

I also planned to make another love themed card based on an animated movie, but the figurine was so tough to draw, so I dropped it for now. Perhaps later..

Thank you reading through. Hope you like the card 🙂

16 thoughts on “I smurf you

  1. Vithya says:

    Thank you Sonia. I love love.. love the smurfs 😀

    Every kid will love it, so its no surprise that your daughter loves it too 🙂

    I appreciate the time you took to visit my link too 🙂 Thanks.

    Hugs,
    Vithya

  2. Kalindi says:

    Thanks a lot for playing with us at Beyond Grey Challenges 🙂
    Its a brilliant card and oh so adorable 🙂
    Keep up the crafting
    Hugs
    Kalindi

  3. pooja says:

    Lovely card ! I love the softness of it ! 🙂 and great choice of the movie too
    So good to have you over at Beyond Grey challenges
    Thanks a lot
    Hugs
    PJ

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. A comment would make me happy :)

