2 cards, a craft dash, and a summer sundae @ 21 rupees

I wanted to make a card that is inspired by
Crafter’s Corner – Summer Sundae Challenge

and Craft Dash #17 @ Pretty Pink Posh.

since both of them has similar color.

I ordered myself these Pretty Pastels by Hero Arts from Crafters Corner, just for the sake of these two challenges. I fell in love with them almost at once. So, the whole set of shadow inks shot up to number one on my wish list. I am becoming a Hero-Arts Fangirl πŸ˜€

This was my first try. In an effort to squeeze through the 10 minute barrier I rushed things through a little bit and ended up with this!

CC_CD_ruined

Sob Sob! Not only did I run out of time, I screwed up the card. I card was crooked. I dropped the ink cube on to the card. Tried to cover it up with some stupid stamping. Over all, the card was a mess!

So, the next time, I tried to things in a much simpler manner. And this is what I came up with.

DSC00386

<> I lurrve it! The colors came out so awesome..

I did the background stamping a bit messily. It does not show because there’s another pattern matted on it πŸ˜€ Since I don’t own a background stamp, I had to improvise and use a flourish from Stampendous to make the bottom layer in cup-of-joe. Then I used a border stamp(again from Stampendous) to stamp a pattern on another CS in soft blue.

Then I stamped the flowers an the leaves, and cut them out quickly.

Here’s the trick to coloring the flowers quickly – just invert your clear stamps, and apply the ink(pale tomato) that you want to fill the empty space with on the wrong side and stamp it. Then ink the stamp right side up(frost white) and stamp over the background. It was all easy peasy..
I saw this technique in a video on youtube. Just search for two step stamping. I forgot the link. Will share it when I find the link.

The first time, I spent too much time stamping images separately, and then fussy cutting the stamped images neatly. This time around, I stamped the background the way I wanted the flowers and the leaves to lay, and then cut them out as a single piece. I also left some white space, so my cutting did not require to be perfect.

flowers

Isn’t the button, cute? I bought it when I went to Paris, about a year ago.

Finally I ran a piece of white CS throught the Big Shot with an Itsy Bitsy Butterfly die, stamped it randomly in field green. Stuck a strip of blue pearls on it, and added a hint of glitter using Ranger Diamond Stickles.

IMG_1603

See the diamond stickles? Makes it just right for A Blog Named Hero – All that Glitters

Then, I took out a scrap piece of CS that was lying around, cut the corners, and stamped a “Happy Birthday” quickly.Β  The butterfly hides the ribbon shaped cut 😦 My bad..

I had about a minute when I starting putting them together. I finished my card with 13 seconds left on the clock.
So my time is

9:47 sec

 

I am very very happy with the outcome.

The recipe for my sundae

1. One Die Cut – Butterfly

2. Two PPs – Cup-of-Joe and Soft Blue BGs.

3. Three Embellishments – Button, Twine, and the Pearl Strip

4. A Dash of Glitter – The Stickles

The total cost of the card:

CS – 7

Pearl Strip – 2

Baker’s Twine – 2

Button – 10

Total = 21 Rupees.

Entering this card into the

4. Thrifty Crafter Challenge at Catchy challenges

Supplies

White CS – The Craft Shop

Clear Stamps – Strictly Supplies Etsy Shop

Hero Arts Shadow Ink Cubes – Quiet Morning – Crafters Corner

Bakers Twine – The Package House Etsy Shop

Butterfly die, Pearl Strips, Adhesives – Itsy Bitsy

Diamond Stickles – Imaginations Online

Button – My Stash.

See you everyone. I also made another birthday card with IBS colours. Will upload it later, when their challenge is up πŸ™‚

Happy Crafting!

12 thoughts on “2 cards, a craft dash, and a summer sundae @ 21 rupees

  1. Mallika says:

    Beautiful card
    I find it tough though creating in like less that 10 mins
    Thankyou for playing along with us at crafters corners
    Hugs
    Mallika

  2. Pallavi says:

    It’s strange.I left a comment earlier on your entry but it does not show up here.Just wanted to say yours is the most well described challenge presentation for a challenge.All the details are so clear and the card is pretty to boot.:-).I don’t think I will ever be able to make a card in 10 mins.Thanks for joining us at Crafter’s Corner challenge #8.Best of luck.

  3. prettypinkposh says:

    Both of these cards are so pretty! I’ve seen the two step stamping process before and it’s genius, especially when you’re on a time limit! Great job, Vithya!

    Thank you for joining along in the 10 Minute Craft Dash. I hope you can play in the challenge again soon!

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. A comment would make me happy :)

