CAS + IBS

I’m falling in love with the IBS Whimsical Banners over and over again.

When I received the stamps, I just had to use them ASAP, and my previous card was made in an hour after receiving the stamps. So today, I finally got enough time to sit down and make a card after thinking it through.

I wanted to do a CAS card for the lawnscaping challenge #58 .

I decided to try my stamping combinations beforehand. So this was my plan..

IMG_1614 IMG_1615

LOL. I just wanted to try random combinations and work out which was the best course of action. I also happen to love the HERO ARTS SHADOW INKS so much, that I tried using them again. But then the colors  did not work out as well as the distress inks. (That’s why I need so many more of them :D)

So, distress inks were the first type of inks that I ever owned. So initially when I had absolutely zero knowledge about inks I tried to do everything thing with them. Not only did I try to do normal stamping – which never turned out crisp -, I also tried to do stamp solid images and tried water-coloring with them. You can check that attempt here. Terrible right?

Even today I own more distress inks(just 12) than any other ink type. So after some research I found out that you can indeed get a crisp outline out of distress inks. The secret to it is “Versamark”

Here’s what you need to do

1. Take your mounted stamp and ink it up in versamark. Make sure you get good coverage.

2. Take the versamark covered stamp and ink it up with the distress ink.

3. Stamp!

Don’t forget to wipe down the stamp with baby wipes before you ink it up with versamark again.

So, I chose – Dusty Concord, Mustard Seed and Peeled paint, so as to match up with the 10 minute craft dash #18 colors.

Here’s the palette

I’ve gone a shade darker than the palette with all the colors (only because I dont’own any other colors 😦 ) SO, I hope its still ok.

IMG_1610

Look how crisp the stamping is. Doesn’t the bold “Happy Birthday to you” sentiment stand out, so much? I love it! I think it makes the whole card look better 🙂

Took me

8:34

secs to complete this card. It took me longer because I dropped the stamp on the card by accident, and I had to flip it over and redo the stamping.

I chose to do the triangles based on the Runway inspired Challenge -Electric Feathers. This is the first time I am coming across their blog. The challenge is super fun!

I chose to incorporate the triangle on the model’s top.

6 thoughts on “CAS + IBS

  1. Jen Rzasa says:

    First of all, I love the card. Secondly, I love that you stamped out patterns on scrap paper first- I do that all of the time! And lastly, thanks for the tip on the distress inks! I only have a few colors, and don’t use them often because I don’t do any distressing on my cards. It’s good to know that I can still use them for regular stamping! Thanks for joining us on the Runway!

  2. Meredith MacRitchie says:

    Hey, that’s a good tip about stamping in VersaMark first! I love the patterned triangles, how fun! This turned out great, and the darker shades of our colours look beautiful! Thanks so much for joining the Craft Dash this week!

  3. Poorvi says:

    I love this card!! The design with the triangles is so pretty!!
    Thanks for playing along in the 10 Minute Craft Dash! I hope you’ll join us again soon 🙂

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. A comment would make me happy :)

