Case Study #155

I made a card for the case study challenge this weekend. The muse of the month is Jennifer Mcguire from Jennifer Mcguire Ink. Here’s Jennifer’s muse card.

Isn’t the card fabulous? And to think she did that with a background stamp! Awesome, right? When I saw Jennifer’s card I realized that I do not have a border/background stamp that I could work into diagonal strips/patterns.

One of the things that I love about Jennifer is her knack for getting more use out of her craft supplies.

The only stamp I had remotely similar was the paper smooches chevron border stamp. I then remembered the air-vent die that I had used on my previous card. So when I started to fiddle with the air vent die, I stumbled upon numerous possibilities including arrow borders of various widths, chevron bits, lattices, etc.

In my card, I’ve die cut the vent diagonally, flipped it over, aligned my die, and cut a chevron border. I repeated the air vent twice and I was happy with the result.

I then CUT(cringe!) up my PS chevron border to stamp patterns in between in various colours. Here’s the result.

CaseStudy155Hope you will like it 🙂

Supplies:

White CS – Priya’s Craft Shop

HA Shadow Inks – Priya’s Craft Shop

Air Vent Die – SSS

Paper Smooches Geo-Graphical Stamp – Paper Smooches

(The little hearts)Clearly Besotted Love Quotes Stamp – Clearly Besotted

6 thoughts on “Case Study #155

  1. Sujana says:

    Hi vithya….. Visiting ur blog after ages….. The prob was WordPress wasn’t loading in my mob…. Anyway first love ur new layout dear….. N ur new watermark, super cute, how did u do dat? Cool….
    N coming to ur card….. Still can’t understand all that u hav done with the air vent die, but the outcome is gorgeous, love the colour shades…. Keep experimenting n awing us….

    • Vithya says:

      Thank you Sujana 🙂 It’s free hand drawing and a lot of editing on Paint.NET 🙂 It is a open source application with numerous possibities. I prefer Paint.NET to Adobe Photoshop 🙂

      I did not take photographs of the process Sujana. But I am thinking of doing a dedicated post just for a few dies and how to get the maximum mileage out of them 😉 Hopefully the process will be clearer then 🙂

      And thank you so much for the encouragement 🙂

  2. Preeya says:

    A nice take on Jennifer’s card! And moral support to you for cutting into your chevron stamp! I have done it to many of my stamps, but my heart races each time I do! Haha!

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. A comment would make me happy :)

