Watercolor picture frame.

Made this watercolor picture frame inspired by canvas tutorial by Betsy Veldman.

picframe

I pretty much followed Betsy’s technique to the T, except that that first wet my entire base with a waterbrush to achieve nice blending(A tip I learnt from Jennifer Mcguire).

The base is Daler Rowney waltercolor cardstock. The frame was cut using MFT chalkboard border dies. It has 5 layers of 300 gsm ivory cardstock to give it sufficient depth.

I stamped the background using Gracious vases stamp set. One of the stems was manipulated into a curve to give more width to the image. I used Tim Holtz distress inks and Hero Arts neon yellow for the stamping purpose. I then ran a wet paint brush over the entire image to give it a watercolor look.

I then filled in the empty space with a diluted version of peacock feathers DI.

I then added some sequins in blue and silver, and closed the frame with a piece of acetate. I used tacky tape to secure the top most panels to the acetate and then the acetate to the bottom panels.

Hope you like what you see. I plan to make many more of these during the next weekend as friendship day gifts! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Watercolor picture frame.

Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. A comment would make me happy :)

